Home » EPL, Latest » Charlie Adam has dismissed claims he dived to win free-kick

Liverpool midfielder Charlie Adam has dismissed claims he dived to win the free-kick which led to Steven Gerrard’s goal against Manchester United at Anfield.

Adam went down just outside the box following a clash with United defender Rio Ferdinand and Gerrard slotted home the resulting kick. 

Replays showed the contact was minimal, but proved Adam’s claims that he was impeded by Ferdinand.

Adam said: ‘Well, everyone has an opinion and I felt a touch. If I hadn’t gone down I would have been clear through on goal so there must have been contact. That’s the way I look at it.

‘I felt contact when I went past Rio and that’s the way it goes. I’m not that type of player. I’m not just going to go down easily.

‘It was a foul and that is why the referee gave it and the goal was just different class. That is why Stevie is one of the best players in the world.’

Source: DailyMail

Related Posts

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.