Home » Featured, Latest, PSL » Kaizer Chiefs seal their fourth PSL title

Kaizer-Chiefs-psl-titleKaizer Chiefs have clinched the PSL title in emphatic fashion as they cruised to a 4-1 victory over Polokwane City at the FNB Stadium on Wednesday night.

George Lebese, Bernard Parker and Matthew Rusike all got on the scoresheet as Amakhosi claimed the championship after a dominant season.

Chiefs started with intent and almost got ahead as early as the fifth minute, when George Lebese missed the target with a headed effort.

But Lebese was ready for the next chance that came his way, latching onto Katsande’s through-ball to open the scoring on 27 minutes.

It got even better for Amakhosi just after the half-hour mark when Bernard Parker was let in for their second to put one finger on the trophy despite a late effort from Polokwane to get back in the game before the break.

Chiefs picked up where they left off in the second half, making it 3-0 when Tshabalala threaded the ball through for Rusike to get his first of the night.

The celebrations had started early before Ndou struck for City just a couple of minutes before.

Rusike then scored his second to restore the home side’s three-goal cushion.

Rusike and Tshabalala both came off late on for Mthembu and Maluleka respectively, with the win just about secured and the celebrations ready to begin.


Kaizer Chiefs (2) 4 (Lebese 27’, Parker 31’, Rusike 55’+65’)
Polokwane City (0) 1 (Ndou 57’)


Kaizer Chiefs: Pieterse, Gaxa, Mathoho, Mashamaite, Masilela, Tshabalala (Maluleka 80’), Letsholonyane, Katsande, Lebese (Masango 46’), Parker, Rusike (Mthembu 73’)

Polokwane City: Marumo, Lichaba, Mhlongo, Nene, Musonda, Jembula (Monama 59’), Langa, Maluleke, Alexander, Tlolane, Ndou

PSL title winners:

1996/97 – Manning Rangers

1997/98 – Mamelodi Sundowns

1998/99 – Mamelodi Sundowns

1999/00 – Mamelodi Sundowns

2000/01 – Orlando Pirates

2001/02 – Santos

2002/03 – Orlando Pirates

2003/04 – Kaizer Chiefs

2004/05 – Kaizer Chiefs

2005/06 – Mamelodi Sundowns

2006/07 – Mamelodi Sundowns

2007/08 – SuperSport United

2008/09 – SuperSport United

2009/10 – SuperSport United

2010/11 – Orlando Pirates

2011/12 – Orlando Pirates

2012/13 – Kaizer Chiefs

2013/14 – Mamelodi Sundowns

2014/15 – Kaizer Chiefs

Related Posts

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.