Home » 2018 World Cup, Featured, International, Latest » World Cup Russia 2018 – Qualifying Draws


European qualifying competition draw

The nine group winners advance directly to the World Cup finals. The eight runners-up with the best record against the teams first, third, fourth and fifth in their groups proceed to play-offs to decide the remaining four European berths.

Tournament hosts Russia are given a bye to the finals.


Netherlands, France, Sweden, Bulgaria, Belarus, Luxembourg


Portugal, Switzerland, Hungary, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Andorra


Germany, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland, Norway, Azerbaijan, San Marino


Wales, Austria, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Moldova, Georgia


Romania, Denmark, Poland, Montenegro, Armenia, Kazakhstan


England, Slovakia, Scotland, Slovenia, Lithuania, Malta


Spain, Italy, Albania, Israel, FYR Macedonia, Liechtenstein


Belgium, Bosnia, Greece, Estonia, Cyprus


Croatia, Iceland, Ukraine, Turkey, Finland


South American qualifying competition

One group – teams play others in group home and away between October 2015 and October 2016:

Colombia, Chile, Paraguay, Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Venezuela, Bolivia, Peru, Uruguay.

Top four teams go straight to the finals, fifth-placed team goes into a play-off with the winners of the Oceania World Cup qualifying group.


CONCACAF qualifying competition draw

The six third-round winners qualify for the fourth round along with the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago who receive a bye. This consists of three groups of four and the top two qualify for the fifth round.

The fifth round is played as a six-team mini-league. The top three qualify for the World Cup and the fourth goes into an inter-continental play-off with the fifth-placed team from Asia.

Third round (two-legged ties, played from August 31-September 8):

Curacao v El Salvador

Canada v Belize

Grenada v Haiti

Jamaica v Nicaragua

St Vincent and the Grenadines v Aruba

Antigua and Barbuda v Guatemala

Fourth round (group stage):


Mexico, Honduras, Curacao/El Salvador, Canada/Belize


Costa Rica, Panama, Grenada/Haiti, Jamaica/Nicaragua


United States, Trinidad and Tobago, St Vincent and the Grenadines/Aruba, Antigua and Barbuda/Guatemala


African qualifying competition draw

The 13 first round winners advance to the second round where they are joined by 27 other teams. The 20 second round winners go into the third round where they are divided into five groups of four and the winners of each group qualify for the World Cup.

First round (two-legged ties, played from October 5-13):

Somalia v Niger

South Sudan v Mauritania

Gambia v Namibia

Sao Tome e Principe v Ethiopia

Chad v Sierra Leone

Comoros v Lesotho

Djibouti v Swaziland

Eritrea v Botswana

Seychelles v Burundi

Liberia v Guinea-Bissau

Central African Republic v Madagascar

Mauritius v Kenya

Tanzania v Malawi

Second round (two-legged ties, played November 9-17):

Somalia/Niger v Cameroon

South Sudan/Mauritania v Tunisia

Gambia/Namibia v Guinea

Sao Tome e Principe/Ethiopia v Congo

Chad/Sierra Leone v Egypt

Comoros/Lesotho v Ghana

Djibouti/Swaziland  v Nigeria

Eritrea/Botswana v Mali

Seychelles/Burundi v Congo DR

Liberia/Guinea-Bissau v Ivory Coast

Central African Republic/Madagascar v Senegal

Mauritius/Kenya v Cape Verde

Tanzania/Malawi v Algeria

Sudan v Zambia

Libya v Rwanda

Morocco v Equatorial Guinea

Mozambique v Gabon

Benin v Burkina Faso

Togo v Uganda

Angola v South Africa


Oceania qualifying competition draw

The winners of round one qualify for round two, where the top three teams in each group progress to round three.

Round three consists of two groups of three, with the top team in each progressing to a two-legged play-off. The play-off winners qualify for the intercontinental play-off against the fifth-placed South American side.

Round One (group stage):

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga

Round Two (group stage):


Tahiti, New Caledonia, Winner Round One, Papua New Guinea


New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Vanuatu.

Related Posts

One Response to “World Cup 2018 & 2022: How the votes went”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.