Home » Latest, PSL » MTN8 Final: Orlando Pirates 1 Kaizer Chiefs 0

Orlando Pirates won the MTN8 for a second successive time after defeating Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 after extra time at FNB Stadium on Saturday evening.

Oupa Manyisa scored the winning goal early in the second half of extra time, finally breaking the deadlock in a game in which the defences were very much on top.

The first half of regulation time was very evenly matched and the two sides essentially cancelled each other out.

The only half chances fell the way of Ndumiso Mabena and Lehlohonolo Majoro for Pirates and Chiefs respectively, but neither found the target.

The second half was far more entertaining and it was the Buccaneers who took charge of the game, dominating possession and forcing Chiefs onto the back foot.

Defender Siyabonga Sangweni had two free headers which he should have scored from – one he put over the target, and the other forced Itumeleng Khune into a fine save.

Amakhosi rarely threatened after the break, but substitute Sthembiso Ngcobo twice came close to breaking the deadlock, forcing Moeneeb Josephs into a good save with a low shot before glancing a header just wide of the near post.

As the clock ticked into injury time at the end of the regulation 90 minutes, controversy struck. Bongani Ndulula headed home what appeared to be a winner for Pirates, but referee Victor Hlungwani adjudged the young striker to have pushed Dominic Isaacs in the back.

However, Pirates didn’t let the incident affect their focus and they finally breached the Chiefs defence in the 107th minute, with Manyisa scoring with a skidding long range shot that bust past the arms of Khune.

The Amakhosi ‘keeper saw the ball late but he will feel that he should have kept it out his net. The goal proved decisive, with Chiefs simply unable to summon enough reserves to bring themselves back into the game.

Orlando Pirates (0) (0) 1 (Manyisa 107’)
Kaizer Chiefs 0

Pirates: Josephs; Jele, Sangweni, Lekgwathi, Cloete; Jali, Manyisa; Segolela, Mbuyane (Mahamutsa 114’), Mabalane (Klate 76’); Mabena (Ndulula 58’)

Chiefs: Khune; Tau, Isaacs, Sweswe, Jambo; Dladla (Nale 111’), Nengomasha, Letsholonyane, Tshabalala (Katsande 81’); Parker, Majoro (Ngcobo 63’)

Related Posts

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.