Home » Latest, PSL » PSL winners Mamelodi Sundowns rewrite record books

2013/14 Absa Premiership title winners Mamelodi Sundowns have rewritten the record books with their latest triumph.

Records set by the class of 2013/14 include:

– Record haul of 65 league points in the 16-team PSL era (previous best Kaizer Chiefs with 63)

– Record 20 victories (out of 30 matches) along with five draws and five defeats

– Record number of PSL titles – 6 (Orlando Pirates – 4, Kaizer Chiefs – 3, SuperSport United – 3, Manning Rangers – 1 and Santos – 1, the other winners since inception in 1996/97)

Furthermore, the Brazilians are on course to set a new record when it comes to remaining unbeaten in league play. As it stands, the club are on an 11-match streak (10 wins and one draw) and will take aim at the current record of 15 matches – held by the Amakhosi in 2012/13 – when next season commences.

Source: Sport24

Related Posts

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.